Spirit of WYD at LAX

I arrived at the gate at LAX (Los Angeles International Airport) to the sound and sight of teens from Puerto Rico working on their dance moves. With music provided by an I-Pod and some small speakers, the girls rehearsed their dances moves to what sounded to me like salsa music. Just minutes ago, I ran into a priest friend from the Diocese of Arlington whom I’ve know since childhood. We were talking about how Catholic LAX has become. Just now ran into Tim Drake, who will be covering WYD for the National Catholic Register. We begin boarding for our flight in about 45 minutes. I have less time than this on my laptop’s battery. One more thing- when I was checking in for my Qantas flight, a representative randomly handed me a copy of the Southern Cross newspaper when I told them I was a journalist. The spirit of WYD has transformed LAX.


Teen spirit at LAX. (CNS/Paul Haring)

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

